Monday, 10 February 2014

This Week's New Music feat Klaxons, Owen Pallet, Jamie xx and more...

Ah, you're just in time for my weekly run down of brand new music. I've got a bunch of recently announced new albums to get through as well as some music that may only ever exist as an online stream. This crazy internet age. Let's get to it.

Klaxons - There Is No Other Time
Everyone knows you shouldn't bother with Youtube comments if you want to hold on to your IQ but I couldn't help getting an idea of the reaction to the comeback single There Is No Other Time from NME darlings Klaxons. It was awash with negativity which caught me by surprise as the song, a collaboration with chart bothering house producer Gorgon City, sounds to me like a rather fun and sunny piece of electro pop. The follow up to 2010's Surfing The Void is due sometime this spring and will feature production from the likes of Tom Rowlands of the Chemical Brothers, Erol Alkan and LCD Soundsystem's James Murphy.  

Jamie xx + Four Tet - Seesaw
Jamie xx and Four Tet played a b2b live mix earlier this week as part of a Young Turks takeover on FBi Radio in Sydney. Their selection included a lot of new and unreleased music from the pair, one of them being this collaboration between the pair title See Saw. A bouncy dance floor ready cut that finds that sweet point between airy ambience, melody and a driving beat. There's no word at the moment on whether this or any other material from the pair will see a release.  

Mark McGuire - In Search of the Miraculous Here's something a little different, a meditative piece layered music from Mark McGuire one time member of electronic group Emerald's which also included Daniel Lopatin aka Oneohtrix Point Never and now focusing on his solo material under his own name. This new track In Search of the Miraculous is a heady mix of electronic textures, treated vocals and shimmering guitars with just enough power and build to stop it from becoming some new age rubbish instead becoming something grand and celebratory. From the album Along the Way which came out this week on Dead Oceans.  

The Body – Hail To Thee, Everlasting Pain
If the track title Hail To Thee, Everlasting Pain didn't give it away, this is some evil sounding music from drone metal duo The Body. The track is a collaboration with electronic noise manipulator/producer Haxan Cloak who created a terrifying yet compulsive listen with last year's Excavation and this track seems to gather a similar haunted and visceral power. Expect much more distorted nastiness when The Body's new album I Shall Die Here will be released through RVNG Intl on 1st April.  

Alauda - Honey Priest
Here's something new that I've stumbled upon this week. There isn't much known about Alauda but the music speaks for itself. Honey Priest paces along on its trip-hop tempos as the vocals lay out a folky pattern over the murky beats and sounds. Alauda hasn't officially released anything as of yet, though does have a few tracks .  

Teebs - View Point
It has been a while since Teebs has put out any material but the LA beatsmith has just announced his follow up to 2011's Ardour. Teebs is known for twisting and warping acoustic sounds to his will with his thick and rhythmic creations. In that respect this new track View Point isn't really a big departure but that doesn't stop it from being a lush and intricate creation best appreciated with headphones. From the forthcoming album E s t a r a will be out in April on Brainfeeder and will also feature Prefuse 71 and Jonti.  

Owen Pallett - In Conflict (Trailer) 
I was thinking earlier on what artists are due for a new album and one of them that came to mind has classical pop experimenter Owen Pallet who last released Heartland back in 2010. Well, turns out he's been working on a new record (as well as writing the score for Spike Jonze's new film Her). The album is titled In Conflict and boasts contributions from Brian Eno and The Czech FILMharmonic Orchestra and the two minutes of audio in the trailer are sounding rather grandiose like some of the biggest moments from his last record. In Conflict will be out on May 12th 2014 through Domino.

No comments:

Post a Comment